Sunday meal prep: Lentil Shepherd’s Pie

This is not a recipe for the faint of heart or for those who like to let the slow cooker do all the work. It is labor intensive, so I hope you have like two hours to spare. You will chop, you will rinse, you will roast and boil and steam. You will use the oven, the range top, the microwave, and the blender/food processor. You will have to set multiple different timers for the cooking of the components of this meal. You’ll basically just RUIN YOUR KITCHEN. You will combine two epic recipes to come together to make this vegan, gluten-free shepherd’s pie.

IMG_20170212_133628727.jpg
Well, might as well move out.

I grew up in a suburban community with a ton of farms sprinkled throughout, but have never actually met a shepherd. I never actually had a traditional meat-and-potatoes shepherd’s pie. My mom was more of a Bisquick chicken pot pie lady. Mmm, chicken pot pie. My three favorite things.

I followed Radiant Rachel’s roasted garlic mashed cauliflower recipe and her vegan lentil shepherd’s pie recipe.

Admittedly, I just eliminated the coconut sugar. I don’t have coconut sugar, and I didn’t feel like going on the hunt for it. I went to five different stores looking for something as simple as tahini for this recipe. The good news is that I finally found it at Giant Eagle. The bad news is that I basically had to take out a loan to pay for it. (It was imported and cost $9.00.) And somehow, this came to 6 servings at only 140 calories each!

IMG_20170212_135420842.jpg

I also prepared these components for the salads I’ll eat this week. They’ll go with spinach, radicchio, and romaine lettuce. It doesn’t really comprise a full meal, so I’ll have some Greek yogurt and fruit on the side.

Snacks for the week are hardboiled eggs (~75 cal), dried edamame (140 cal, 12g protein in just 1/4 cup!), trail mix, and red grapes.

Anyway, here’s a picture from Cupid’s Undie Run yesterday. I raised just over $100 for the Children’s Tumor Foundation and I definitely want to run again next year!

16602375_10202988434988557_8524805211729090725_o.jpg

Leave a comment